Award recognition for TPI's academic partner at global Finance for the Future Awards


We are delighted to share that at the Finance for the Future Awards held on 16th October in London our academic partner, the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment (GRI) at the LSE, won the Driving Change Through Education, Training & Academia award for its work on the Transition Pathway Initiative (TPI).

These international awards – which are designed to share global best practice as well as create and develop a community of finance leaders committed to drive sustainable outcomes – are set apart from other awards by the expertise of the judging panel and rigorous nature of the assessment process. The latter involved a formal written submission and Prof. Simon Dietz and Dr Rory Sullivan, TPI’s Chief Technical Advisor, presenting to the judging panel.

With considerable competition within the category, this award is excellent recognition of the Grantham Research Institute’s work and its importance to the success of the TPI.

Dr Michal Nachmany and Prof. Simon Dietz of the Grantham Research Institute at LSE

The trophy was collected by Prof. Simon Dietz and Dr Michal Nachmany of the GRI (pictured above). Loretta Minghella of the Church of England and Faith Ward, Co-Chair of the TPI, joined them in celebrating the award and to discuss the initiative with attendees (pictured below). From this, opportunities have arisen to present the TPI to further financial and professional investment bodies.

Dr Michal Nachmany, Faith Ward, Prof. Simon Dietz and Loretta Minghella.
The academic rigour behind the TPI is fundamental to the initiative’s credibility and relevance to its investor audience, so we are grateful to the team at the Grantham Research Institute which works so hard to enable this.

Finally, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank our further partners FTSE Russell and Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI), and the over thirty supporting funds globally who are using the TPI in their work, for their on-going commitment to this important climate action initiative.

Adam C.T. Matthews and Faith Ward

Co-Chairs of the Transition Pathway Initiative (TPI)